EcoTools Pure Complexion Sponge Review


Hey everyone!

I’m Emma, the new summer intern for Farleyco. I started in May and I’ll be working alongside Lorry and the Farleyco team until the end of August. So far I’m really enjoying my time here, I love helping with all the giveaways and social media – and I get to see products galore!

Sometimes I even get to bring an extra product home. This past Friday I was lucky enough to get an EcoTools Pure Complexion Sponge (Sensitive Skin version). I was really curious about it after all the reviews I’ve been reading (like The Fantasia, Ivory Avenue and Chantal’s Corner) and now that I’ve gotten to try it — I LOVE it.

My skin routine is hardly extravagant: Cleanser and moisturizer, with toner in the morning. Typically I just apply the face wash with my hands or I have one of those deep cleansing face brushes, but I think that might just change to this sponge. I can’t say anything about long term results just yet (I’ve been using it less than a week), but if it maintains my skin I’ll be usin’ it on a daily! It’s so soft and gentle, but I still feel cleansed and refreshed. On Saturday and Sunday I was actually eager to wash my face! (Not the usual.)

photo 5
(Please excuse my post-workout selfie)

A common concern I’ve read about is that it takes a while to dry, which has the potential for bacterial buildup. I’ve noticed the drying time too. The sponge is made with Konjac vegetable fiber, a renewable root plant from Asia. It does take a while to dry, but I’ve found some Konjac-specific tips to deal with this:

  1. It helps to be hung up to dry in a well-ventilated area. (But since there’s no string try a grate shelf so it can breathe)
  2. If you can’t do this, it’s actually recommended that you keep it in the fridge.
  3. For a more thorough clean, soak it in hot (but not boiling) water for 2-5 minutes. (Boiling will cause damage)

Other than the dry time, I’m definitely a fan. I never thought a sponge could be so fun! One of my favourite parts about the sponge is that it’s completely natural, so once it’s time to replace it, you can throw it into your compost! (Fun fact:  Konjac is actually an edible root like a potato.)

EcoTools Sensitive Sponge Konjac
EcoTools Sensitive Sponge Konjac
Ecotools Deep Cleansing Konjac Sponge
Ecotools Deep Cleansing Konjac Sponge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want to try it out, you can get it at select Brunet, Pharmasave and Uniprix locations in Canada. There are 2 types: The white Sensitive Skin version and the darker Deep Cleansing sponge with charcoal. It’s also available at Farleyco.ca (and what better time since we’re giving away that free gift with purchase?).

This was fun, hope I get to blog some more during my time here!

-Emma

 

5 thoughts on “EcoTools Pure Complexion Sponge Review

Comments are closed.